Voting Process

The awards process is based on the following steps


A shortlist of 9 nominees for each category is identified by an Efma Committee after the submission deadline (7th September).

Online votes

The voting period: 17th September until 24th September

Efma members and non-members – from financial institutions only – who visit the website are able to vote for the 7 standard categories (excluding the Global Innovator category) after logging in.


To cast their votes they established a podium ranking of Gold, Silver, and Bronze, among the 9 nominees per category. Each vote cast by an institution for its own innovation receives 50% of the points normally attributed.

For the special Global Innovator category, an Innovation Awards Committee composed of banking executives and innovation specialists from all over the World review all the nominees and vote.

Jury – Innovation Awards Committee

The jury evaluates the Global Innovator nominees taking the following three criteria into account:


The uniqueness of the innovation strategy in the marketplace and its potential as a game changer.


The strategy’s capacity to generate a superior, long-term competitive edge and a significant return on investment.


The strategy’s adaptability across different markets and countries.

All ratings and results remain confidential.

Meet Our 2018 Judges

Ronald Zirka

Ronald Zirka

Director, Marketing & Retail
Banque Libano-Francaise Lebanon

Anja Stolz

Managing Director Client Management & Communications
Commerzbank AG – Germany

Jean Alain Law Min

Deputy Chief Executive, Head of Retail
Mauritius Commercial Bank – Mauritius

Werner Loots

Werner Loots

EVP Consumer Banking Sales and Support
U.S. Bank USA 

Remy Khoo

Head of Digital Innovation & Strategy
Maybank Berhad Malaysia


Indra Utoyo

Managing Director
Bank Rakyat Indonesia – Indonesia


Driss Maghraoui

Head of particular and professional markets
Attijariwafa Bank – Morocco

Slava Ostrovskiy

Digital and Mobile Business Executive
Sberbank – Russia

Jun Seong Han

Deputy President (Chief Future Innovation Officer)
Hana Financial Group & KEB HabaBank – South Korea


Khomotso Molabe

Standard Bank – South Africa

Paul Moreton

Managing Vice President
CapitalOne – Canada

Chaiwat Topitumatukhun

Vice President, Branding and Digital Marketing
Bank of Ayudhya -Thailand

Liz Maguire

Head of Digital & Transformation 
ANZ Bank – New Zealand

Renata Petrovic

Superintendent – Research and Innovation
Banco Bradesco – Brazil

Dedy Lim

VP, Head of System Delivery Channels and Development 
OCBC Bank Singapore – Singapore

Usman Sheikh

Director of Design & Experimentation
Barclaycard – UK

Stephan Erne

Chief Digital Officer
Handelsbanken – Sweden

Pedro Sousa Cardoso

Senior MD, Global Head Digital Commerce Standard  
Standard Chartered Bank – Singapore

Jose Wolff

Director – Digital Transformation Strategy
Bancolombia – Colombia

Mahdi Kilani

Head of Business Banking
Abu Dhabi Islamic Bank – UAE

Masato Kaneda

Joint General Manger, Digital Innovation Dept.
Mizuho – Japan


Marco Marazia

Commercial and Bank Director
Widiba – Italy

Mathieu Staniulis

Senior Director, Client Segments and Member and Client Experience
Desjardins – Canada

Daniel Daszkiewicz

Head of FinTech
Alior Bank – Poland

Amran Hassan

Maybank – Malaysia

Diego Cristancho

Executive Director Global Digital Strategy & Behavioral Economics
BBVA – Spain

Kaizar Patla

EVP – Head Retail Assets
Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank – Abu Dhabi

Olugbenga Adams

Olugbenga Adams

Head Digital Innovation & FINTECH
Sterling Bank – Nigeria

Nikolina Zecic

Head of CEE Digital Collaboration
UniCredit Bank – Austria

Sophia Wikander

Head of Mobile Payments, E-commerce & Business Innovation
Nordea – Sweden

Evren Sahin

Director of Digital Banking
Yapi Kredi Bank – Turkey

Pierpio Cerfogli

Deputy General Manager
BPER Banca – Italy

Manish Agarwal

Manish Agarwal

Sr. Vice President – Digital Marketing & Innovation
Kotak Mahindra Bank – India

Mark Robson

Head of Group Retail Business and Performance Management

Som Subroto

EVP & Group Head of Retail Banking Group
Mashreq Bank – UAE

David Rasson

Center of Expertise Lead Innovation
ING – Belgium

András Fischer

Head of Innovation, Retail Banking
OTP Bank – Hungary

Didier Richter

Didier Richter

Head of Digital Banking

Nelly Tzakou

General Manager
National Bank of Greece – Greece

massimo tessitore

Massimo Tessitore

Head of multichannel, mobile payment & e/m commerce
Intesa SanPaolo – Italy

Nikoloz Kurdiani

Nikoloz Kurdiani

Deputy CEO
TBC Bank – Georgia

Pamela Babuscakova

Pamela Babuscakova

Head of Research and Development
Tatra Banka – Slovakia

Jessica Niewierra

Director (Grid Owner) Mobile, Internet & Design
ABN AMRO – Netherlands

Eddie Humphrey

Eddie Humphrey

Head of Home Buyer Propositions
AIB Ireland

Andres Wolberg-Stok

Andres Wolberg-Stok

Global Head of Policy
Citibank – United States

Makoto Shibata

Makoto Shibata

Principal Analyst & Head of Global Innovation Team
Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ – Japan


Morten Moller Madsen

CDO/CMO, Executive Vice President
Nykredit – Denmark


Arno Walter

Comdirect – Germany

Luis Uguina

Chief Digital Officer 
Macquarie Bank – Australia

Frédéric Chenot

Deputy Managing Director Proximity Bank and Insurance
Groupe BPCE – France

Bijna K. Dasani

Head of Group Architecture Strategy and Innovation
Lloyds Banking Group UK

Natascia Noveri

Head of Marketing
UBI Banca – Italy

Maxim Evdokimov

Skilled FinTech Strategist and UX/CX Expert 
Tinkoff Bank – Russia

Sonia Wadrychowicz

Managing Director, Head of Technology 
JPMorgan Chase & Co – USA

Gurhan Cam

Deputy CDO & President to Innovation Committee
Denizbank – Turkey

Mudassar Aqil

Mudassar Aqil

Chief Executive Officer
Finca Microfinance Bank Pakistan